What will my child be learning?

Your child will be learning skills, gaining knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven areas of development in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). This will be achieved using resources, through activities and play, and through music and songs.

The three prime areas most crucial for a child’s healthy development are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

being secure in the above three prime areas will help them to develop skills in the further following four specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Expressive Arts & Design
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World

How can I find out how my child is progressing?

It is important that we work together and communicate with parents; there will be ongoing discussions and conversations regarding activities that will benefit your child. These conversations will be either with your child’s Key Person or childminder.

Your Key Person will continually observe and formally assess your child and record feedback in a Learning Journey – you can request to see this observational feedback about your child at any time.

Progress checks

There are also two formal assessments as well. The first formal check takes places sometime between your child’s 2nd and 3rd birthday. This check will assess your child against the three prime areas. It can also ensure early identification of any developmental issues.

If you would like to talk to us in further about the curriculum, please do not hesitate to contact us.